January 13th, 2011

Its been about two weeks of slow recovery from being sick and its time to finally take the running outside.

Today after work I decided to run around Greenlake. I’ve actually never run the lake before, I always walked it in the past. I got to the lake about 5pm and it is just about twilight. The clouds over the lake are a beautiful pink from the sun setting. There are actually a lot of people still out around here which is nice as it will get dark really quickly.

This is my first run outdoors in probably a month due to the hectic holiday season. It took me exactly 31 minutes and 23 seconds to run around the lake. It had been raining most of the day but for those almost 32 minutes it was dry and clear. Just as I finished it started to mist which was a great way to cool down and stretch.

My knees are feeling great and I didn’t even wear my knee straps (I have patellar tendonitis). After finishing my loop I went to Super Jock n’ Jill to pick up my race t-shirt from the Resolution 5K that I missed. I felt I needed to run 3 miles first to earn the shirt.

The endorphins from running are unparalleled to any other activity. It makes me smile. And I sure sleep well after a good run too.

~ by jennl4 on January 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

