January 18th, 2011

I finally decided to try out Imperial Crossfit. I printed out my groupon and headed there after work. Mapquest said it would take me 12 minutes to get there. I gave myself 30 minutes. It took 45 minutes. I was hoping to hit the 5:30 class but since it took so long I had to wait for the 6:30 class.

The gym has 3 areas:

  1. A lounge with a bunch of couches for those people who either just finished and need a place to cool down, or for those who show up early to relax and prepare for the workout.
  2. Main area of the gym is split into two portions. One half of the warehouse is covered in turf and is used for running, stretching, tire flipping, etc. The other half is where the actual Crossfit class happens. They have the workout on the white board and everyone does the warm-up on their own then come together to go over the workout of the day (WOD).
  3. There is another room – which I didn’t go into that looks like its full of machines and apparatices. I’ll have to peek in there next time I go.

Here is what our workout consisted of:

WARM UP
3 Rounds of
10 Box Jumps
10 Ring / Parallel Bars / Bench Dips
10 Burpees
GROUP PRACTICE / REVIEW
Power Clean

WOD
6 Rounds of
Power Clean Max Effort for 30 seconds (135/95)
Sit Ups Max Effort for 30 Seconds
-1 Minute rest in between rounds

They post the workout daily on their website and facebook page so you know what your getting yourself into before you hit the gym. It was a really good workout and I look forward to trying some more WOD’s soon.

~ by jennl4 on January 20, 2011.

One Response to “January 18th, 2011”

  1. Can’t wait to keep up with your blog and do the Danskin with ya!!

Leave a Reply

