February 11th, 2011

Sunny, snowy Central Park

I just spent the last week in New York visiting Sarah. It was a great trip. Prior to going on this trip though, I was worried about missing a week of Crossfit. So I did an online search for Crossfit gyms in Manhattan. I found a gym close to Sarah’s called Crossfit Metropolis. Unfortunately they wanted a lot of money for a drop in workout, and their free newbie class was not convenient. Instead, I chose to run around Central Park. On Sunday, I ran 3.2 miles around the park. It was a gorgeous sunny day. And even though there was snow on the ground and cold out, the park was packed with families, entertainers, couples, and joggers like me. On Monday I decided to go for another run. I decided to take a different route so I could see the other side of the park. This was great because I got to see Alice and Wonderland’s Statue and the Castle that is hidden in the park too. My 3 mile run on Monday turned into a 4 mile run though because I couldn’t find my way out of the park. That is the most I’ve ever run without stopping so I was really happy.

Now that I’m back in Seattle, I got back into the Crossfit gym and just about died doing “Pushing Annie (see below).”

WARM UP
3 Rounds
10 Dips
10 Burpees
10 Box Jumps

WOD – Pushing “ANNIE”
50 / 40 / 30 / 20 / 10
Double Unders
Push Ups
Sit Ups

150 / 120 / 90 / 60 / 30 for Singles (Sit-ups and Push-ups remain 50-40-30-20-10)

*I did a combo on the jump rope as I’m trying to learn how to do the double unders but can’t sustain them so I did 100/80/60/20 instead.

Today is a day of rest as tomorrow, Saturday, February 12th i’ll be running my first race of 2011. If you want to run with me, walk with me or just come cheer me on, i’ll be running the “Love em of Leave em” at Greenlake Park at 9:30am. My goal is to run the 3.2 miles in under 30 minutes. It’s a great starting goal that is easy to build on as my year of running progresses.

Wish me luck on the race tomorrow…and i’ll try to post pictures soon.

~ by jennl4 on February 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

