Passover Brunch

Yesterday (April 23rd) I hosted a Passover Brunch for some of my friends. This is the fourth year I’ve hosted this brunch but this year things were a little different. For starters, this year we had about 40 people. We also got to utilize the backyard because it was a beautiful, warm, sunny day in Seattle.

The Menu:

Matzah and Passover Rolls

Peanut Butter, Strawberry and Black Currant Jams

Salmon Cream Cheese Spread and Butter

Potato Cigars with Ketchup

Granola and Vanilla Yogurt

Fruit and Veggie Trays

Macaroons (Chocolate Chip, Plain, Cranberry-Orange, and Chocolate Fudge)

Matzah Roca

Fruit Cobbler

Mimosa and Juice Bar

I’m blogging about this year’s brunch because this year I turned our brunch into a fundraiser for two great causes. As all of you know, I’m running in the Nordstrom Beat the Bridge on May 15th and Komen’s Race for the Cure on June 5th. Both these causes are close to my heart and my family. My cousin McCall was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes a few years ago and my Auntie Sue is a Breast Cancer Survivor. Both inspire me to strive to be the best verison of myself I can be.

As people often offer to bring stuff to my house when I host parties, this year I asked them to come hungry but also asked them to donate to one or both of these great causes. I put out boxes for each and hoped we’d raise some money. When there were only about 5 people here still I looked to the boxes and started counting. I had raised $55 for Beat the Bridge and $75 for Race for the Cure. Then I checked my email and found out that I had received a $25 donation for Beat the Bridge (that will be matched by Microsoft), and a $50 donation for Race for the Cure (also to be matched by Microsoft).

Thank you so much to all my wonderful friends for celebrating and support with me. I am blessed to have such amazing people in my life.

Jenn

P.S. If you’d like to join us you can donate or walk/run with us too.

 http://www.beatthebridge.org/site/TR/Events/General?px=1528122&pg=personal&fr_id=1150

http://pugetsound.info-komen.org/site/TR/RacefortheCure/SEA_PugetSoundAffiliate?px=6568932&pg=personal&fr_id=2079

~ by jennl4 on April 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

