Gluten Free/Dairy Free – Week 1

After speaking to my crossfit coaches Katie, Kristin and Allen at Imperial and coach Rob at Amped last week, I decided to switch up my diet.  Crossfit Amped is doing a 40 Day Paleo Challenge (Imperial Crossfit started one right before I started at the gym). Because I cannot consume high volumes of vegetables, Paleo would be very challenging for me. The Concept behind Paleo is great though. It really eliminates processed foods. You eat a lot of lean meats, vegetables and fruit. Instead of Paleo, I decided to go Gluten Free/Dairy Free (GF/DF) for 40 days.For those of you who know me, my primary diet consists of dairy and grains so this should be interesting. My best friend Sarah told me that after two weeks if I was turning into a raging bitch, she was going to come home from NY and stuff a donut down my throat. Let’s hope that doesn’t need to happen.

I wanted to share a recipe that has helped me through week 1.

Mixed Meat Burgers

1 Package of each:

  • Ground Chicken
  • Grass fed Ground Beef
  • Organic Ground Lamb

1 Yellow Onion diced

1 Extra Large Egg

1 Tablespoon Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

Seasoning of your choice (I used a mixture of Italian Seasonings, Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder and Tom Douglas’s BBQ Rub).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the ingredients together. Then use a large cookie scoop to measure out equally portioned meat into a standard muffin tin. I didn’t set a timer so I’m not sure how long I baked them but I turned them over halfway through and when they looked done I took them out. I’d estimate about 15 minutes. The mixture made just shy of 2 dozen little burgers. Once they cooled, I froze half and put the other half in the fridge. I didn’t want them to go bad since I had planned to only eat 1 at a sitting. To reheat them I have prepared them two ways.

  • Microwave for 1-2 minutes depending on heat level, turning over half way. Served with GF/DF BBQ Sauce for dipping.
  • In a fry pan with bell peppers (any color), fajita seasoning and chopping it up into taco meat.  Served with a yellow corn tortilla.

Other things I’ve been enjoying are Walnuts, Almonds, Crasins, Celery with Peanut Butter, Rainier Cherries, Pamela’s Baking Mixes (GF, some are DF, some recipes you have to alter a bit.) I’ve made Pamela’s Brownies (Oil recipe so there is no dairy), and Pamela’s Chocolate Chip Cookies (Peanut Butter version so there is no dairy). 

Last night I tried Bisquick’s new GF/DF Pancake/Biscuit mix. I made the biscuit recipe, substituting 1/2 cup water for the milk, and added an egg wash to the top and sprinkled a little sugar on top before baking. This will be a great summer treat with fresh strawberries (Hello Strawberry Shortcake!)

I’ve tried GF before but this is the first time I really feel satisfied, and am having no problems meal planning. My veggie and meat intake has increased, and the best part, I’m finally sleeping! I haven’t gotten less than 8 hours of solid sleep since I started (normally I only sleep about 4-5 hours a night). Getting the right amount of sleep allows your entire body to run the way its supposed to. 

Let’s see what week two will bring in terms of trying new recipes. The farmers markets are now full of great options so I might take a trip down the street to the Newcastle one and see what my culinary creativity can come up with.  Anyone interested in being creative with me?

~ by jennl4 on May 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

