Gluten Free/Dairy Free – Week 3

Can you believe that I’ve already completed three weeks of Gluten Free/Dairy Free! I haven’t slipped up once either. I’ve been very smart about my food choices, and really putting an effort into meal planning. I am still sleeping really good too. I lost 3 pounds in week 2. I am going to weigh myself only every other week as to keep up with the element of surprise though.  I have gotten rid of the hunger issues though, and my cravings for sweets is slowly disappearing too. The only downfall I’ve seen is that my energy in my workouts has decreased. It is requiring me to put a lot more effort into working out and I’m exhausted by the smallest things. I hope this wears off because I have a lot of goals and races still to get accomplished this year.

Here is a recipe for my dinner I’ve been enjoying this past week. I love Memorial Weekend BBQ Leftovers.

BBQ Chicken

1 can of sprite zero

2 Tablespoons Tom Douglas Rub with Love Smoky BBQ Seasoning

Salt and Pepper to smell

Garlic (1-2 cloves pressed)

4-6 Chicken Breasts (you can use thighs too)

Marinate at least 1 hour (I think I did 5 hours). Heat your grill to desired temperature and then remove chicken from marinade and grill until cooked through.

Mixed Roasted Potatoes

Baby Red Potatoes, All Blue Potatoes, and Yukon golds Quartered (you can buy a bag with all three already mixed at Costco or Trader Joes)

1 Yellow Onion (I cut it into chunks but you can dice, or slice depending on preference)

Garlic (1-2 cloves pressed)

Italian Herb Seasoning (Oregano, Thyme, Rosemary, Basil)

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil or Canola Oil to coat.

Wash and quarter potatoes and place in large mixing bowl. Chop onion and add remaining ingredients to mixing bowl. Toss together and cover. Put in fridge for at least an hour. When your ready to cook…pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees. Dump potatoes into a 9×13 casserole dish and cover with foil. Bake for about 15-20 minutes covered (stir halfway), then remove the cover and turn the oven temp up to 400 degrees (stir again before closing the oven). Let the potatoes back at 400 until brown and fork tender.

I’ve been eating the Chicken and Potatoes and some fruit (blueberries, pomegranate seeds or grapes) for some sweet/tartness. But feel free to use whatever side dishes you prefer or replace the chicken for beef or Portobello’s or whatever your fancy on the grill too.

 

~ by jennl4 on June 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

