August 14th, 2011

If someone told me two years ago that I would compete in a Sprint Triathalon I would have laughed at them. Fast forward two years and here I am competing in my first Sprint Triathalon – The Danskin. It’s an all women sprint tri and it consists of a half mile swim, a 12 mile bike ride and a 5k run. As you all know, I’ve been doing the 5k’s now for a few months so I wasn’t worried about that part. However, its been a long time since my Edgebrook Swim Team days so my swimming needed practice. And my biking skills were the worst. I hadn’t dreamed of  getting onto a bike since I last fell when I was about 12, but I did it! This is a picture of me just as I’ve finished the swim and am headed back to the transition area to get ready for the bike.

I had decided I didn’t care what time I completed the tri in as long as I did the best I could and finished each segment. I did in the back of my mind have a goal, which unfortunately I did not meet because of the bike, but I

did complete each segment. My Swim and Run time estimates were spot on though so that made me happy. I had a few friends who competed as well and actually got to see them at the beginning which allowed us all to shake off the nerves (Thanks Amy Holan and Margaret Marks).  This is a picture of me running across the finish line (from the race photographers). It’s too small tell but I had a huge smile across my face!

It’s been a wild ride the past two years. I’m so glad I finally put myself first and have dedicated my future life to taking care of who I am and how I live. We should all be inspired to live a happy and healthier life. We all have areas of our life that need improving and yet so many people ignore them hoping they will go away. They are going to stick with you until you get off the couch and do something about them. If I can go from 0-65 in 2 years and complete a spring Triathalon, just imagine what you can accomplish if you set your mind on it!

 

~ by jennl4 on August 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

