January 17th, 2012

So I figured since we are all fighting this snowstorm 2012 I’d blog about my January tourist/day trip. I took a drive up to one of my childhood favorites “Birch Bay.” For those who don’t know where that is, it’s about 20 minutes north of Bellingham or 20 minutes from the Canadian border. It’s a quaint little beach town. My family used to have a place in Jacob’s Landing and would go up there any chance we got. As a kid during the summer I still remember the water park and C Shop. And one of my favorite memories was the 4th of July Parades with the Krivosha’s. The smell of the bay starts just off the exit and brings a smile to my face every time. Nothing beats the salty air.

As for keeping up with my inner athlete I’m officially in “like” with Pilates. I never thought I’d get into low impact exercise but I’m really enjoying it. Between running and crossfit and previously kickboxing my body is really adapting to this low impact workout. I’ve tried Yoga in the past and even a Pilates boot camp but my body just wasn’t ready for it. I have even tried Yoga now and find it very spiritual and religious and while a good workout I’m to distracted by that. Pilates really focuses on your core and plyometric exercises which lengthen and tone lean muscle. If you’ve never taken a Pilates Mat or Reformer class give it a try and let me know what you think.

~ by jennl4 on January 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

